Famous Alumnis

ISAYEVYCH Yaroslav Dmytrovych (1936‒2010) – Ukrainian historian, public figure, Academician of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, director of Ivan Krypyakevych Institute of Ukrainian Studies of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, President of the International Association of Ukrainian Studies, and the First Chairman of the Ukrainian National Committee of Historians. He was a member of the Scientific council of the Ukrainian Historical Journal as well as the author of works on medieval and early modern history and culture of Ukraine and Central and Eastern Europe.

MOROZ Valentyn Yakovych (1936‒2019) – Ukrainian historian, political prisoner, dissident, and the author of over 100 scientific papers, Doctor of Humanities (Honoris Causa) of Jersey State College as well as a member of the Association of Ukrainian Writers “Word”.

HRYTSAK Yaroslav Yosypovych (1960) – Ukrainian scientist, historian and publicist, Doctor of History, Professor of Ukrainian Catholic University, Director of the Institute of Historical Research of Ivan Franko National University of Lviv, Visiting Professor (1996–2009) of the Central European University in Budapest, First Vice-President (1999–2005) of the International Association of Ukrainian Studies, Editor-in-Chief of the scientific yearbook “Modern Ukraine”, a member of the editorial board of the journals “Ab Imperio”, “Judaica Ukrainica”, “Critique”, “Slavic Review”, a member of the supervisory board of the journal “Harvard Ukrainian Studies”, and Honorary Professor of NaUKMA.

DESHCHYTSIA Andriy Bohdanovych (1965) – Ukrainian diplomat, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Acting Minister of Foreign Affairs of Ukraine from February 27 to June 19, 2014. From October 13, 2014 to February 8, 2022 – Ukraine’s Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to Poland.

HEL Ivan Andriyovych (1937–2011) – Ukrainian human rights activist, dissident, politician, publicist, religious figure, one of the founders of the Ukrainian Helsinki Union, as well as Soviet dissident and political prisoner.

PARUBIY Andriy Volodymyrovych (1971) – Ukrainian politician, Chairman of the Supreme Council of Ukraine from April 14, 2016 to August 28, 2019, Secretary of National Security and Defense Council of Ukraine from February 27 to August 7, 2014, and People’s Deputy of Ukraine of the 6th, 7th and 8th convocations. During the Euromaidan Revolution he was the commandant of the Maidan Self-Defense.

VYATROVYCH Volodymyr Mykhaylovych (1977) – Ukrainian scholar, historian, publicist, researcher in the field of history of the liberation movement, public figure, Chairman of the Ukrainian Institute of National Memory (from March 25, 2014 to September 18, 2019), Chairman of the Academic Council of the Center for Liberation Movement Studies (Lviv), a member of the Supervisory Board of the National Museum-Memorial to the Victims of Occupation Regimes “Lontsky Prison”, former director of the Archives of the Security Service of Ukraine (2008–2010), editor of the Ukrainian Liberation Movement Proceedings (2008), and Deputy of the Supreme Council of the IX convocation from European Solidarity.

SOLCHANYK Bohdan Zinoviyovych (1985–2014) – Ukrainian historian, public figure, active participant in the “Black Age”, a lecturer at the Department of Modern and Contemporary History of Ukraine at the Ukrainian Catholic University in Lviv. He died from a Berkut bullet on the Maidan on February 20, 2014. Hero of Ukraine.

No alumnus found.